sad · words

With those words.

You took my hands in yours,

Looked into my eyes,

Then silence filled the room.

Your mouth opened, closed, opened.

My hands became clammy.

Heart rate sped up.

Your hands squeezed mine.

“I have to tell you something.”

I waited.

The silence began pressing on my chest.

“I…I have to let you go.”

Echoes.

Silence.

Stillness.

I felt my body disappear.

I felt your hands squeeze mine.

My heart did stop.

My lungs lost their ability to function.

My hopes,

Dreams,

I could feel them fall and shatter around me.

How could you say this out of the blue?

“Say something.”

Echoes.

Your  silhouette blurred around the edges.

With those few words, you took it all away

How could you?

What prompted those words?

Leave a Reply

