words

‘The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree’

This was the third time,
The metallic bars slid shut,
The annoyed look of the officer glaring between the bars.
Lips pressed white,
He shook his head.
He’d warned me last time if I was caught I’d end up,
But wasn’t that expected?
My father had been down this road before he met his violent death,
Drunken nights,
Bar brawls,
Rowdy,
I’d tried to fix myself but trouble kept skulking in the shadows and grabbed me.
Tonight I’d broken in a property and gone swimming in someone’s pool.
Next time I might be pulled from a fight.
I couldn’t stay home anymore,
Momma didn’t let me have my peace.
‘The apple don’t fall far from the tree’ she keeps saying.
I’ve come to like the chaos,
It keeps the noises at bay,
They won’t stop talking,
‘I’m just like him, or headed there’ they say.

3 thoughts on “‘The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree’

Leave a Reply

