Posted in Romance, sad

Brought to your knees

It’s just one word,
It could have been a sentence,
The shocking space creeping in,
The suffocating invisible plastic,
It was coming,
Heart beating slow, fast then thumping.
This was the end,
The moment I could feel my legs give way,
Sagging, falling.
To my proverbial knees.
No words could be uttered to cover it all,
The chains breaking too fast,
Ones I’d tightened as I moved close to you,
Only one remains,
A delicate one that could be severed any moment.
On my knees I smiled.
A smile that would never reach my eyes,
This was it,
The breaking that was shuttering my heart as the silence grew.
It was over,
We were done.

Author:

Everyone's life view prism is different.

Leave a Reply

